Automated Fixtures Weird issue with Martin MAC 600

compuryan

I'm a light technician onboard a Royal Caribbean Cruise ship and I have a problem with a Martin MAC 600 (magnetic) that after hours spent troubleshooting and trial & error, I am no closer to a solution for. I've also looked online but there oddly doesn't seem to be a Martin forum dedicated to their moving lights (only for controllers).

Anyhow, the problem is that when I power on the fixture, all the motors engage as normal during reset but they spin VERY slowly, such that all wheels barely move and fixture does not pan or tilt at all. If I allow the unit to eventually time out, I get DIER, COER, CYER, B1ER error messages. However, nothing in the head homes correctly. It isn't just that side of the module that doesn't home correctly. The issue seems likely to be related to the magnetic sensors. If I unplug the sensor board (during reset) for the dimmer, cyan, color wheel, and beam 1 wheel, the fixture springs to life and completes the reset at normal speed, but still doesn't home correctly (for the obvious reason that I unplugged the sensors). Unplugging the sensor board on the other side does not produce the same result, leading me to believe it is the cyan, etc. sensor board at fault.

What I have tried so far (none of which has helped):

• Watched all the wheels during several reset cycles, they always spin past the magnets several times and time out
  • Checked that all of the magnets are in the correct position and not de-magnetized
  • Checked that the sensors were withing 1mm of wheels
  • Checked that power taps were correct (they were not orginally but that has been fixed)
  • Replaced Main PCB (3 times!)
  • Replaced both sensor boards
  • Replaced sensor wireset between main PCB and head and the one that splits from the head to the sensor boards themselves.
  • Replaced transformer (in case the motors weren't getting enough power)