Control/Dimming Wireless Router on ShowNet

Sharkey

Hello! I'm a High School student who works on the two yearly plays we host. We have a Strand Lighting system, controlled via ShowNet.

We understand that this uses a sort of network to communicate. Would it be possible to use a wireless router in between the controller and dimmers to use a low-level control software (Would need to find one) to control lights wirelessly via laptop? We can't really aim for the "PocketPallet" by Strand, but we think the laptop idea is quite possible.

What are the protocols that the CAT5 wires transfer, and could they be used as a standard IP Address network? Would a standard router work?

We currently have Preset Palette II (96 Slider Edition).

Thanks for your input in advanced! :p

Last edited:
Shownet is a completly standard based ethernet lighting network. It runs on top of standard ethernet 802.3 standards which means yes, you can use it with off the shelf networking gear such as a wireless router. I do this all the time. There are very few control software that works with it outside of strand. There is a project out there that converts shownet to artnet which opens up a bit more options. However, Chamsys Magic Q does work with shownet. My default Chamsys setup includes a computer, a wireless router, and 2 shownet nodes. It works great and I have used it for countless shows.

Keep in mind you will have to set whatever computer you use to the same IP address as your console. This will probably have to be done manually.

Hello Footer,

Thanks for your quick reply.
So, I'm guessing the Ethernet from my controller board goes directly to the dimmers, or to the ShowNet nodes (The Strand Blue boxes with DMX in and out on the front). Where would I attach my wireless router to? I can easily set the IP addresses, I'm familiar with networking. I have easy access to the port in the wall from the stage to my controller, could I intercept it from there?