Addressing Elation 36 LEDs on an Expression 3

aluminous

Hello-

I am new to intelligent fixtures, though i am familiar with patching on an ETC board. I rented 6 Elation LEDs, and right now they are ganged together so that channel 513 is red, 514 is blue and 513 is green. Is there a way to readdress them so that I can control each fixture individually? My control is an ETC Expression 3. My concern is that right now they are patched in one dimmer. My thought is that there should be a way to address them either on the instrument, with the dip switches, or on through the board. However, I am not sure where to start.

thanks!

Since they are LED's I would bet they don't actually run off a dimmer but a DMX channel, I'm not familiar with the Elation 36 but I know ETC had a setup that let you control multiple DMX addresses using only a single Channel. Where you want to address the patch issue is on the Expression. They are probably all patched to those specific channels. I would consult your manual on the specifics of how to re-patch those fixtures but I would bet it just lies in how your rig is patched according to which DMX addresses are patched to which channels.

"Elation 36" is not a product. Are you referring to the Design LED 36: Elation Professional - Professional Lighting Products ? I have used these a few times, but never an Expression. But basically you want to find the fixture profile that controls these lights, load it into the Expression, and patch wherever you want. Then on the DLED36 you'll need to set the dip switches to the appropriate DMX address. Whether you address the fixtures first and tell the console where they are or vice versa is up to you and what works best for your setup. I usually address my fixtures then patch at the console, but only because that works for me.