An Education question.. About lighting...

Shawncfer

So right now I'm a senior in high school and next year I'm going to Texas State University with an intended BFA in technical theatre and emphasis in lighting design. Well right now I'm in theatre at my school and I'm the main lighting person, I run the board, rig the lights, and even though the tech director designs main stage shows, I get to design black box. Ontop of that, I work at a local club rigging up lights for local bands and stuff. And we have a pretty good setup there.

Basically to sum that up, I know about light rigging, im not an expert, but I know the basics. What I'm worried about though, is more lights. I mean, in my school we have 10 moving lights, and the club we have 5. So whats going to happen after I graduate and I work for a production company in arenas and theres like 50 moving lights? And how do you rig truss in an arena? I mean, Im not wanting yall to answer these questions, but the question I'm eventually getting to is, for those of you who have gone to college for lighting design, or technical theatre, or whatever, did you learn to do what you do starting at the bottom at a production company and people teaching you? Or did you learn in college? I know I probably sound stupid, but I'm just worried...

You have 10 moving lights in your high school? Congratulations. I guarantee you you are far ahead of 95 percent of the incoming freshmen out there.

No college teaches arena rigging beyond a few days in an advanced class. Very few colleges even touch how to dress truss. No college is going to teach you how to prep a tour or how to work on 30 different types of movers.

You have to remember, if you are going to college for theatre, your going to be doing stuff in a theatre. Rarely is truss and motors rigged in a theatre outside of touring productions. Rarely are more then a handful of movers used outside of a handful of regional houses. Thats changing, but its slow.