Are cheap LED RGB bars worth buying for use in a small theatre?

MrM

I work as a drama teacher in a high school and my department has recently allocated $2000AUD (around $1300USD) to purchase some LED bar lighting to augment the existing halogen pars and fresnels. Knowing little about digital lighting I did some ebay research only to find the prices of LED bars varying from around $100USD each up to many times that. My intention is to use them as a cyc wash and possibly as a kind of footlight as well. Our stage is around 10m wide by 9m deep. Would I be wasting our money buying a dozen or so cheap LED bars (6 downstage, six upstage) and a small DMX controller or should I bark up a different tree. Any thoughts?

Demo one. Very hard for us to know if they dim well enough, have good enough color, and are bright enough for you. Dont count on ever replacing one with another that is the same, and don't count on ever getting repairs. I suspect a majority here would vote for wrong tree but if it works for you for a couple of years, so be it.

Rather than searching ebay or alibaba, have you checked out any of the Australian stage lighting companies? They might import some of the cheaper fixtures but have the added advantage of meeting Australian safety standards. They might also be able to provide demo fixtures.

$1300 would buy you one useful cyc fixture that would last a while..... an Altman SpectraCyc 100.... depending on height of your cyc.
Having a second controller for LED fixtures would not be the best solution.

Reactions: Ric