audio snakes...

Ok my church has two audio snakes one goes to the mixing board and the other runs into that snake as an extension as some of our mic wires are not long enough to run from one side of the platform to the other where the main snake is. I received an e-mail from one of our worship leaders regarding this and I was wondering exactly how to explain it he had asked "if we would have a delay in the sound since we are doing this," What I am asking is if someone could give me a good explanation so I can take it to him about what happens with the sound when you chain two audio snakes together?
Thank you
Dave

This won't be the most explicit answer as I'm not an expert on all of the details, but the answer is no, you will not have a delay. Attenuation doesn't really occur at a noticeable rate until your cable is over 100m (correct me if I'm wrong here. That's the distance an ethernet cable can travel without attenuation.)

Note: Attenuation is a loss in quality, not delay.

Take a look at this website, it should really help answer the question..

Speaker Cable Gauge (AWG) Guidelines & Recommendations — Reviews and News from Audioholics

In practice, chaining two snakes together has absolutely no impact on audio quality, and it definitely doesn't add any sort of meaningful delay.

I may be wrong in the physics of this but since sound is turned into an electrical signal when entering cable such as a mic line or snake the signal is traveling near the speed of light (the cable has a certain impedance) and because of that a snake running off a snake should make no difference unless one of the snakes was absurdly long.