Mixers/Consoles Buying New Sound Board

Hello...I'm new here to the forum and have some questions. I'm also a bit of newbie when it comes to sound boards and specs. I've usually come in with something setup, in my current situation, I'm setting up something new.

My church is looking to upgrade, specifically recording video using a camera and a sound board. I believe the Pastor has purchased a Canon XH A1 HD camera but I'm not sure how the sound will go to the camera. Should I use the Aux Sends to send that signal to the camera and then a send from the camera to a recording device?

Also, we are upgrading our sound board from a Mackie 20 channel to one with 32-48 channels, preferably with built in effects. With a digital board, would I be able to change Chan 1 from vocal 1 to vocal 3 by a press of a button midstream?

Also, what boards/brands would work best in this situation if we do go digital? If we get another analog board, I am looking at Soundcraft/Mackie/Yamaha boards. I'm looking at getting something that has at least 6 sets of Aux Sends.

Ideas?

Thanks!

What does the church have now, and why do they think they need to upgrade?

Section 1
You can use an aux send to send the audio to the camera. Not sure why you would want to come out of the camera to another recording device since the camera is a recording device, or, if you're using strickly a camera, the send the audio directly to the recording device.

Section 2
Digital vs. analog console
Who all will be operating this system? What you are describing, routing an input signal to a particular fader is acheiveable, but what does that do for you? With proper configuration, a digital console can be set up so novices like yourself can do the things they need to do, while locking out stuff that could get you in trouble.

Section 3.
Brands