Career in Educational Theater Tech? Am I crazy?

Fountain Of Euph

Hi all,

Forgive me if this is a little to personal, but I am really in a hole.

I am about 2/3 of the way done with a education (music, specifically) degree. It has been a bit of a haul, and I am feeling a bit burnt out. Additionally, my GPA issent really up to snuff to apply for licensure. An administrator has taken interest my plight, and has offed to help me get some coursework in theater so that I can be marketable in the tech industry when I graduate. The condition is I would have to leave the music ed program. I have been working in the industry for a few years at this point, and know my stuff well enough, but have no formal training, just hands on experience. I really love teaching music education, and hope to return to in a few years.

Here is my real question: what kind of opportunities are there in educational theater (specifically tech) without a teaching certificate or a BFA? I would probably end up with a BA or a Bachelors of Music in technology or somthing similar. Is this even somthing I could pursue? I do want to return to school for a teaching certificate at some point in the future. I think it is also worth saying that I have pushed cases in the past, and am not scared of pushing them in the future. A little hard work never killed anyone....

Sent from Taptalk for Android, this was.

The teaching certificate really goes a long way in getting a job at a high school, that being said, having hands on experience and a bachelor's degree will help you land a job as a facility manager if you can find one in your area. I have my theater ba with teaching certificate and I got my start as a .6 performing arts center manager. After three years I found a new job full time as a Technical facilities manager (auditorium manager). The teaching cert and licence really helped in my current job as I am able to teach the tech theater course.