Choosing a Gel

NewChris

I'm a high school student and I was wondering how do you choose a gel to use in a production? I have a Roscolux swatchbook. I get how you think of the scene and the mood / feelings that you want to get across. If I want "anger", I want a red, but how do I choose which one?

I work more in the non-theatrical side of lighting, but I can without a doubt say that this check-sheet will help you make your decisions: Choosing Colour

At the end of the day, remember that a lot comes down to creative/design choice and aesthetic. If you're just starting out, it's a good idea to err with more delicate/less saturated or dramatic colors, so as to avoid making a stage look that is clashing and confusing. If you can stay towards the more neutral range starting out, you can correct your mistakes as you learn and adapt your gel choices. A bastard amber will be easier to correct than a party yellow, for example.

I find that it's a difficult thing to find the right color and gobo choices sometimes because, like you said, you have to find the "right red" from all of the choices available. But if you really look at the colors, you'll find that they are all different from each other, and that difference is critical. In your scenario, if the red that you choose is say, slightly too pink, then the angry mood might not completely be conveyed. What I like to do is narrow down to 3 or 4 colors that I'm trying to pick from and then work from there by comparing them directly. The best resource is Rosco's color booklet and/or the website to see what they recommend and what other designers have used in the past. Also, pay attention to the transmission % on the swatchbook. Some colors are very deceiving in that they don't look that saturated, yet have a transmission % of like 14%, which depending on the application could be a problem.