Completely Confused About College Admissions and Portfolios

Hey there!

I searched the site, but couldn't really find an exact answer for my question . . .

I'm currently a high school sophomore, and in school we've had to do college searches. I know that I want to go into technical theatre - I've always been in love with theatre, especially the behind-the-scenes side, and I can't picture myself doing anything else. I'm especially interested in lighting design, but I'm very confused about what exactly my portfolio should be. I know I won't be applying for a year or two, but I just want to get an idea of what should be in it.

Right now I volunteer at a community theatre. I just started in November, after being fed up with our school's tech program. We have great productions, but our stage manager won't accept any help with anything. I've tried to get my way into 'stage crew' for a year and a half, asking just to have any job and asking multiple people, but nothing comes of it no matter how hard I try. Basically, our stage crew's a joke, and I was getting no experience whatsoever. At the community theatre, I get more experience than I could have ever asked for. I don't get to design the shows, but I get to learn about lighting and do spotlight and other backstage stuff. Plus, at some point might be able to operate the board during a show.

So what am I supposed to put in my portfolio, since I probably won't be designing shows by that point? I have a real passion for lighting, I'm just terribly confused. Also, what would you suggest I take as an elective course if I want to go into this field; a regular art class or a CAD class?

Thanks!

Take the art class. If you can fit it in later, take the drafting class.