Customizable Gobo

FrenchGuy

Hi,

I am a local high school student responsible of Theatre Technologies. It is my final year this year and at my school we have this thing called Promposal where you have to propose a girl to Prom and the most creative/fancy proposal wins their tickets for prom. At my school, we own two Chauvet Q-Spot 360 LED. I am looking at buying custom gobos that would fit in these fixtures and that you say, ''Prom?''. I also don't quite know the size of the gobo I need to purchase, Is there a way to make them ourselves?

As a student, my budget is quite limited, so I am looking at the cheaper option.

Thanks for helping me out on this,

Frederic Giguere
Gr 12 Student
Technical Head
[email protected]

If they are LED you could just print or make a copy on acetate (an overhead transparency, clear plastic) and just cut it out. Shouldn't cost much. Or you could get them custom printed but it would be a longer wait and more money.

Via Tapatalk

I would advise against modifying school property (I assume) with homemade gobos. If you break them, you should pay for the repairs. Most moving lights have gobos that are very small, about the size of a quarter, but they have very tight tolerances, so getting it homemade and perfect to fit in the gobo wheel would be a challenge. Order a professional one should be about $90 for the first, $40 for the second, and all you need to do is send the artwork in and say what fixture you'll install them in. The gobo mfg. will know what size to make.

Why not make a video on your computer? You won't get it to move like a moving light, but it would be more cost effective and less risky.