Design CYC color mixing- CMY, RGB, can I use both???

stoteg

Hey everyone. New dudes first question. I'm a 2nd year lite student from north florida. I'm designing for a dance piece at school, everything about the show is created in house, so each lighting student gets a piece. We're submitting the colors we want on the cyc tomorrow. I don't know how far apart they are, but the RP screen will be DS of the cyc with sky units and ground rows focused on the cyc. If they're the same units we used last year, we have 1kw Sky Cyc and 2kw Ground Rows. We have to pick 3 sets of color for both unit sets, 6 total.

I'm just discovering color theory and I'm trying to get a grasp on it. Can I use a subtractive mixing process with CMY gels in the ground rows and an additive mixing process with RGB gels in the sky (or vice versa)? Has anyone tried to combine these systems? Should I just stick with CMY?

And does the fact that magenta has both red and blue wavelengths in it make it mix well with both red and blue, as well as green and yellow/amber (since red and green wavelengths make up yellow/amber)?

Last one, saw this in a really old similar thread and wanted to know more:

Seachanger adds a fourth "extreme Green" filter to extend the range of colors possible.

What does he mean and how does it do this? Does it require computer precision to do or can you do it at the board? If I remember right last year we had put this ugly green up on the cyc and I don't remember anyone being able to make great use of it. Then again I am slightly colorblind and ALL the colors we picked last year sucked.

Whew. I'm done. Hope I made sense. All help is much appreciated!