Damage/Accident Photos

mightymel

Hello Everyone,

I'm a high school tech theatre teacher and am on the hunt for some stage damage/accident photos. Nothing gory or gross just looking for some photos of accidents that have happened onstage, both set and rigging. I've already googled some image but maybe can find some better ones from technicians who have seen it first hand. I really want to show the kids the kind of damage equipment can cause when operators are not paying attention and that sort of thing. We are currently on the subject of counterweight systems but really any photos would be good teaching aids. Thank you so much in advance.

-Mel

You will actually find very little in theatre rigging. The Blue Man Group run-away was the biggest one that I know of. I know of no deaths that occurred dues to accidents in counterweight rigging in recent memory. There have been a decent number of accidents in outdoor and arena rigging, but that is different can of worms.

The Clancy facebook page does have some but none to my knowledge resulted in serious injury.

As much as we think counterweight rigging in unsafe, in practice we have very few failures/accidents.

I don't have the research to prove it - and doubt anyone has that information either way - but I think most injuries on stages are from falls. Starting with stage edges, orchestra pits, and open traps; continuing to ladders and platforms; and especially performers fflying, climbing, and otherwise at height without suitable protection.

Not exactly what you're looking for, but I couldn't pass up an opportunity to link to this one.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Not exactly what you're looking for, but I couldn't pass up an opportunity to link to this one.

Same with this one, even non-motorized, dull things can still be dangerous. And you wouldn't believe how dangerous it is to be around other people.