Detailed Set Models + Xacto Knives = Sore hands.

dmarushy

I am a professional scenic designer, and part of the job that I love and is extremely valuable not only to myself but usually everyone else involved in a production is the scale model.

I am a perfectionist and love intricate detail in designs, and I love the model to reflect this. I am also a big fan of power tools.

My basic wonder is: are there any pro designers out there who either have model pieces cut by a CNC router or even OWN one themselves. I see that there are "desktop" versions, but really haven't researched it too much yet. It would sure make designing amazing! No sore hands, hours upon hours saved and my personal favorite part...PERFECTION!:)

Ive used them before for machining and they are handy but they are not cheap. The first question becomes will the material you work in take kindly to be cut by a mill. If you work in foam core I would test it with a dremel and make sure it doesn't feather or crumble while being cut.

And by the time you buy a machine and the software to turn a CAD file into G code or another machining language it can understand your looking at dropping at least $3,500 into this project. It would be neat to be able to draft all the elevations and then have a machine cut out the models but whats your break even point? Say you get an assistant for $500 for a week or two to help make models, it would take seven shows to break even. And I would hope that even at $500 the assistant would be able to do more than just cut things.

Now if you knew of a scenic house that used a CNC router to cut wood then you might be able to get your hands on it after hours....