DMX512 w/ 2 ED15’s

Arlen13

I’m new to DMX, so apologies in advance. I recently purchased a DMX controller and two ED15 Dimmer Packs from Eliminator Lighting, in an effort to upgrade my gear from mid 80’s to somewhere in the late 90’s. I enjoy lighting as a hobby, occasionally working with bands or local theatre. I moved to DMX so I could have my board in a position to see what I’m designing, in lieu of the miles of extension cords I now own (my old controller had the 4 channel sliders on the front with the other controls and the lights plugged directly in the back of the unit, no separate dimmer packs, all inclusive).

Anyway, I digress.

My two ED15 dimmer packs have dip switches, which is a whole new world for me and one that I haven’t been able to conquer, even after hours of research and YouTube watching. I can get one dimmer pack to talk to the board, the 4 channels of the dimmer pack into first four sliders of the board. Dimmer pack dip switches are set to ‘on’ at 1, 10(slave), 11(dimmer function, Channels 1&2) and 12 (dimmer function, Channels 3&4). DMX indicator light is blinking green.

I then connect the DMX output on the back of the first ED15 dimmer pack to the DMX input of the second ED15, daisy chain them. I get no DMX indicator light sometimes, other times steady green. I’ve tried all different configurations of the dip switches, to no avail. And when I researched dimmer packs, I was told I didn’t need the stopper or dummy connector plugged into the DMX output of the second dimmer pack, like some systems need. I know the second ED15 works because I’ve switched it with first one and it works the same as I’ve described above.

I’m not getting a connection between the two dimmer packs and only one talks to the board.

The YouTubes I’ve watched all deal with individual DMX lights, not dimmer packs, so am I right in assuming that each dimmer pack itself gets an address, i.e. one address for the pack, not 4 individual addresses, one for each channel.