Elation Trio 1248 Console

Hello Forum friends. I posted the following on the Elation support forum, but thought it was at least worth a try posting here as well in case I can get a quicker and/or clearer response than I get from there. Thanks in advance!

Hello, I am a middle school drama teacher. I recently purchased the 1248 to program and run the cues in my small theater. I have 3 elation Joy-300 moving lights and 30 or so conventional fixtures. I have finally, after many hours, at least figured out how to control all my lights manually.

But, I cannot begin to understand how to program the board to run my cues in sequence. The manual included in the box is a joke. Whoever is responsible for that ought to be embarrassed. At least the one posted on your site is written by someone who speaks english, but it still leaves much unexplained.

I have three main questions. I would really appreciate a clear response so I can move forward. First, is there a way to control a conventional light with a DMX address of 49 or higher? Second, is there a way to add the state of a moving light to a Submaster, so that the conventionals and the MLs all move from one submaster 'look' to another with all at once. Finally, what is the simplest way to progress through a sequence of cues. I probably have about 80 cues for the show I am preparing for, and the only way I have done it is by programming each cue into a submaster, then using the 'preset A/B' sliders to go from one to the next. It seems like a lot of unnecessary movement of the faders; can't I just tap the bump buttons like I've done with much less robust (and cheaper) boards? What if I accidentally miss a cue or forget to change to the next page of submasters, how do I quickly move to the submaster I want?

Again, I will appreciate any help you can give. If it simply can't do what I'm trying to do, please let me know so I can get the right board for my needs in time for my show which opens 5/20. Thanks!