Fresnels vs lekos for corporate/worship applications?

TJCornish

I do a lot of portable events that are perhaps best described as corporate. They have a band and I use LED wash fixtures and a couple movers for color light. I am currently using leko fixtures to provide front light, especially for the speaking component of the event.

Normally I have truss about 6' out from the front of the stage and about 14' high, so wide fixtures are desirable. I have a couple of 50 degree Source 4s that get used for this, as well as 36 degree S4s and old Strand Centurys.

It seems like it takes too many fixtures to provide a nice front wash with the lekos, and it also seems that the hard edge - even softened as much as I can - is a detriment.

Are fresnel fixtures the right tool for this? The variable beam angle is really attractive, and as long as the pool is on the floor, I don't think I need any more control than I can get with barndoors.

If so, what should I be looking at? I'm trying to stay with 575 watt class fixtures (or larger fixtures lamped down to 575w if that makes any difference), and like the efficiency of the S4s.

Doing a forum search here has revealed the Selecon Acclaim and Rama lines. I see Arri fixtures at B&H, and I have a few old Century 6" fresnels that I got really cheap, tried once, but then abandoned because of the crudity of the fixture and relative inefficiency.

I've seen comments like "The Acclaim is only good to a trim height of 18'". Why does that matter if the beam angle and wattage are the same as something like the Rama?

Are the new fresnels more efficient and higher tech than the super crude Century 6" fixtures I have and am trying to get rid of?

Thanks for any thoughts!

*grr.... stupid CB and "your security token was missing"... *grumble*...let's try this reply all over again...*