Need advice on rigging

csilvia9

I am working at a school where the stage has no fly system whatsoever. I am fairly new to the theater world so learning as I go. I am working with a tight budget but would like to have a very simple fly system (Im talking for scrims, and light props only, not people) installed, but would like to know what a basic system would consist of and what I should be looking for.
As usual any advise is appreciated

Let's assume the space cannot accommodate a full fly tower or has any appetite for the safety concerns with same. Let us also assume that there is little need to move stuff during a performance. Let us also assume that safety, maintenance and misuse are a concern, and the structure is capable of supporting something.

In such a situation I would be looking at ETC Prodigy, JR Clancy Powerlift, or Draper Torkstar systems.

Manual winch systems are also an option, but by the time you deal with installation costs and putting all the right safety features in place, the price differential may warrant the motorized rigging.

... waiting for the people that do this for a living to weigh in.

The first thing you need to look at your structure..can the building it self handle a fly system, is it tall enough for a fly system, there are different loads placed on a building when you start talking about moving things.

I can't speak about the Draper system, but Prodigy and Powerlift aren't anything I would say fits in a "tight budget"?

Let's start with some questions:

1) What's your financial pain threshold on the cost of this?

2) How tall is your proscenium?

3) How tall is the area above your stage?

4) What is the roof above the stage made out of? (are there huge steel I-Beams or just some wood joists?)

5) Have you talked to any installers about this?

6) How many battens do you want and what do you want to be able to do with them?