Need help connecting lights to dimmer rack/control board

elim29

Hi, I'm a complete newb to lighting but need serious help in finding solutions to my situation. I'm trying to light an outdoor stage for a concert in the park. For the sake of budget, I plan on using about 20 Fresnels that I already have sitting in storage instead of newly purchasing Pars or etc. So I have the lights and the generator (which is big enough to easily power the lighting plus more), but my problem is I have no clue on how to connect one to the other. If my budget allows for it, I would like to have a solution that allows for lighting control. Nothing fancy, just a simple $300 control board. If I wanted to go this route, what kind of dimmer rack should I get so that I can control 20 lights? I was thinking of going with a couple of 6-channel hybrid dimmer racks, but there wouldn't be a need for a hybrid if I end up getting the the control board anyway, right? And what brand for the dimmer rack do you recommend?

If the whole package ends up exceeding my budget, I plan on simply hooking my lights straight to the generator for a hard on-off and make plans for an investment in the future. If I take this route, what are the exact pieces of equipment needed for each step of the set-up? I was told there needed to be a circuit breaker involved? Where does it need to go and which one should I purchase? I'm having a hard time understanding how 20 light cords are supposed to get connected to a generator, so if you could break it down in layman's terms, I would seriously appreciate it. Thanks.

What kind of lamp is in each fresnel? That is really going to be the deciding factor on what kind of dimmers you buy. If you have 500w lamps, something like 5 of these: 4 channel DMX Dimmer Pack would work. To control it, any DMX lighting console would work, from PC based to simple analog such as one of these: MATRIX Stage 24ch. Lighting Console would do it.