Design Need help optimizing system

I'm a student at a local private school in Albany, New York. Currently our system in our school's auditorium is as listed:

1x-Leprecon LP 1536 lighting console
3x-Leprecon Dimmer rack(12 channels e/a)
1x-PowerMac G5 (OS x 10.3.9)
2x-Monitors
16x-PARcans
6x-Par64's
6x-Spots

What I'm looking for is to integrate the lighting console and the PowerMac G5. I need a reliable yet inexpensive program I can run and a node that will support 5pin DMX-512. I also am looking to have the ability to control both the conventional and intelligent lights (particularly 4 scanners and 4 MH).

Any suggestions would be great I would really like to see what I can make out of the system

Can you be a little more specific regarding
16x-PARcans
6x-Par64's
6x-Spots
?

Buy the Enttec DMXUSBPRO for $151. Download the free ChamSys MagicQ software for the Mac. Using the Enttec's DMX in, you'll be able to use your Leprecon board as a "wing."

[EDIT: Above is INCORRECT information, see next post for clarification.]

It's a bit overkill for your application, especially if you have no MLs or LEDs. And be prepared for a somewhat steep learning curve if all you've ever used is the two-scene preset, but you'll end up with a very powerful system. One that you'll be able to grow with once you add MLs/LEDs.

However, see also http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/collaborative-articles/7572-gafftaper-method.html.

Last edited:
Re: DMX-in on Chamsys Magic Q PC

Hi Everyone,

The MagicQ software is free for everyone to download and use - 18 universes of incredibly powerful control, and you don't have to pay us a penny for it! Because of this, we do need to make our money somewhere so until you have a piece of our hardware connected over USB, we limit the options that would allow you to use third party control surfaces.