Design Never used dimmers. Need to start now. HELP!

thechef

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the forum. Just posted my hello in the new members section. I'm pretty new to all this lighting business, so you may have to bare with me. What I lack in technical knowledge, I make up for in other ways. At least I think that's what I'm supposed to say.

To cut to the chase, I was wondering if anyone could help me out a little. I'll start of by saying I'm based in the UK, for electrical reasons. I'm off on my 3rd tour in April, and it's going to be the 1st which I'm doing a full design for. I wanted advice on connecting some work lights up to dimmers so that I can control them from the desk via DMX. these are the lights themselves 400W Portable Worklight - Worklights - Lighting -Decorating & Interiors - Wickes. they are also available in 120W should that be necessary. Now, the power available on this tour is going to be very limited. Pretty much no 16/32A supplies (with exceptions), all 13A. More than likely a lot of it won't even be on a separate circuit to the sound. If you read my bit in the new members section this won't be new, but the venue I work in has no dimmer racks, just LED pars, moving heads and our blinders are sunstrips which have their own dimmers, so I don't know the first thing about them. I'm trying to get some shadowing time in my local theater, but in the meantime I thought I'd ask here. I'm sure it's very simple, but to the untrained eye there is a whole load of stuff available out there at varying prices and I don't know where to begin. If anyone can help, I'd be forever grateful.

Thanks in advance.

You'll need dimmers of some kind. It sounds like the space you're going to doesn't have any so you'll need to buy some or rent some.