Portable Video Rack

Studio

My school is looking to upgrade their portable video system.

We currently set up on a 6' table and have to store all our equipment in bins.

We are looking to create a rack like in the sketch.

We need recommendations for a rack like the one in the photo about 5' high or standard size.

We also need rack mountable video monitors like in the sketch nothing fancy but at least 4 for cameras and 1 for the main feed.

I am new to racks so if there are any articles or websites (besides CB) I should know about.

We already have mixers and cable.

We would also need some type of light/power unit on the top of each side of rack, I now they exist because we have them in our auditorium.

I have a few questions for you. What kind of budget do you have for this project? You need racks, and judging by your description they must be portable. Since they are to be about five feet tall, I assume that they are not going to be picked up and put on a production desk. Do you plan on having your mixers mounted in that position? If so, that will put them very near the floor and not very accessible. It seems that you have a lot of wasted space in the racks, so you may consider smaller racks that you can then put on production table.

For your monitor selection, check out B&H Photo Video who has several different rack mounted options for you.

For your power needs, I'd recommend finding a Furman power conditioner. You can get them with retractable lights or jacks for Littlelites.

For the rack itself, you have many options out there, but if you need direction finding one, let us know.

As for additional education, while this isn't rack building specific, Extron Electronics offers a wide variety of educational articles for free which will help you in your efforts. I would recommend looking at the signal distribution area specifically.

Last edited:
I would look into these models...they are fairly low-budget.