Power in an Airport Hangar...Help???

CaptPaul

Hello everyone,

First post here so I hope I can find some help. I'm slated to do a show inside of an airport hangar. Upon my initial walk through I was told I can use the 220 volt plugs that they plug the corporate jets into to power the electrics in the plane. I have never done this before usually I have just used either standard 120 volt household type ac plugs or a gas generator.

I'll be supplying the PA system and stage lighting (standard array of equipment). So my question is....How would I go about taking the 220 plugs and getting my gear powered up. Would a power distro be of help? or should I just avoid this and bring a generator and go that route.

If i am missing any info please let me know. I really want to do this gig properly and not look like a bafoon :) or blow the airport up :)

Thanks
CaptPaul

Find a local Rental house and Rent a Distro box. Tell them what you are doing. where you are doing it and what you are powering. Chances are they will have an adapter for the box OR you may need to have them come wire up a tap. either way if you tell them you need 120 for your gear they can get it out of that plug. Do NOT try to come up with a fix for this yourself. sounds like you know sound which is good. Messing with high amperage 220 shore power for an airplane is not for a beginner.

Thank you Van. Yes I am totally leaving it to the pros when it comes to electric. I sorta needed the push in the right direction. Which I think you have done. So thank you again. I would never try to jerry-rig something like that. I know how to run the lights and sound just never done it in a big setting like this or arena etc. where power like this would be an issue.

I will see what I can find from the local rental stage places.

CaptPaul

On question I think you need to ask, "Does that 220 come with a neutral?"
If it is just hot, hot, and ground, then a generator might be your best answer.