Projector problem

LavaASU

Ok, hoping someone on here has experience with the Eiki LC-XB31. I have limited experience working on projectors, though I certainly have electronics repair experience. The lens is dipping below where it should sit relative to the housing and more so when you touch the focus or zoom. I pulled off the top cover and the black plastic piece A in the picture is firmly attached. It appears that the black plastic piece B should be firmly attached to piece A. The Screw C (and the other 3) go into piece B. The metal piece D spins and controls either zoom or focus (I assume it's moving lenses inside the lens assembly) and screw C (and like) serve as end stops for D.

The piece B is moving relative to A which is what's causing the lens assembly to bounce and sag. It's tough to focus but livable for now. However I'm concerned that the stress of that flexing is damaging something. Is anyone here familiar enough with these to know what the issue is there/ how to fix it? Or if it matters beyond being a pain to focus?

Oh, and this is a cheap used projector we picked up so not worth sending it to a professional repair place.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Eiki repair pic.jpg
    Eiki repair pic.jpg
    241 KB · Views: 293
projector back of lens.jpg

Yeah, so took it apart to where I could get to the back of the lens assembly, and the screws I was hoping were the problem go to something else. The lens you can see in the photo (the innermost one) is NOT moving with what I called piece B (the problem). The 2 red arrows are the screws I thought would fix it.

So I think the next step is going to have to be getting the lens assembly out and *hoping* I can then figure out how the two pieces are supposed to be attached. Ideas? Knowledge? I seem to be having a chicken or egg come first problem. I need the fans (visible in under and around lens) out of the way to get to the lens screws, but they don't seem to come out without having the lens out of the way!