Resume Review Please!

StewTech

So, I'm a young high school technician. I've been around theatre all my life, and now I'm seeking a job as a theatre technician, and I'll be sending out my resume to local theatres.

I've been viewing the forums here for a while now, and I've created an account to ask for your help.

Would you all be so kind to critique my resume?

https://docs.google.com/document/pub?id=1DVPu0XnSM5-nuKAFLFoy0t5XoxWq7tAhkts7sYzicW4

The school, address, phone, email and references have been removed for security reasons. :)

First - Welcome to CB! Hopefully you'll become addicted and will stick around and join in the conversations! Stop by the New Member board to formally introduce yourself there.

Second - Can you maybe repost this as an attachment, preferably as a PDF? Formatting is a huge part of the resume, possibly more important than the content itself, and (unless I'm missing something) I don't see a way to actually see what that will look like on a page. You'll get much better feedback if you post it as a PDF.

Second (and a half) - You're omitting the name of your high school, but you'll keep your phone, home address, and email on there? Well.... it's your info! :) Just double check that to make sure that's actually what you wanted to post.

Third - On to the resume! Starting from the top, good job getting your name big and right up there with your contact info right there. I would probably add a line in between those saying "Theatrical Electrician" or "Lighting Designer" or whatever you want to be so they know what they're looking for when they pick up the resume. Generally on theatre resumes, you don't often see the Objectives section like you do with normal resumes. I'd put my show experience at the top, then add a section under that for "Relevant Skills" - things such as experienced with counterweight rigging operations, follow spot experience, moving light repair skills, and so on.