Sending audio to Canon GL2 from Yamaha LS9-32

halstonb

Good morning, I am new to digital mixers and I have been thrown into working with a LS9. I have been able to figure out most everything I need to do. There are a few snags here and there but overall it not so bad. My latest snag is trying to send the audio from the console to a canon GL2. I have tried using the omni outs but all I can get is a hum. I am sure that this is simple and I am just overlooking something, but I need some help. any help is greatly appreciated.

I'm moving this over to the audio forum where you will probably get better help. There will be a link from the multimedia forum as well.

The hum sounds like you have a ground loop issue. Maybe you could help out by stating what type of connections you are making.

I am interpreting your issue as being hum and nothing else, not hum in addition to audio. Is this correct? What audio are you trying to send to the camera? Have you used the outpu patch window to send it an aux send, bus, etc?

If no audio is passing through then you are probably not patched correctly. If you want the stereo main mix to go to the camera do this: Select the master fader. Cursor up to the routing button on the screen (this should be next to where the head amp would be if on an input channel). Hit enter and it will take you to the patching page. Select the omni outs that you are using. Note that when you select the master fader the first time you will be on Left, press it again and you have selected the Right output. Assign the left to the appropriate omni out, press the master fader's select button again to go to the right output, then assign it to the next omni out. You can assign an output to as many mixes as you would like, but you cannot assign multiple mixes to one omni out.