Control/Dimming SMPTE Time Code Beginner ETC Gio

TheTheaterGeek

EOS Addict
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Hey Guys,

I am trying to learn how to use time code in programming shows.

Sadly I am not even at the point where I understand how to send/receive it. I am aware of SMPTE servers and the fact that I believe logic and other audio software can output it. Is there a way to use it to program a show and run it just from the console and no peripherals.Or even better, somehow use it in the offline editor.

Console : Gio Running 2.2

RVI : Junk Computer Running Nomad

Are you trying to time cues with a music track?

Yup.
But I am a REAL Newbie to the concept.
The equipment I have at my disposal is my console of course, our offline editor, A Behringer X32, an My Macbook Pro With Logic Pro X.

Thanks.

Its looking due to my research that MIDI Time Code is more of an option.
I thought I was pretty good with this stuff. :p

Basic info on SMPTE:

ETC - SMPTE guide

I would recommend MIDI Time Code, I think you will find it easier to figure out.

I have been reading that for the past half hour. HAHA

I have also been told that MIDI Show Control is another option. That I am slightly familiar with.

When it comes to MTC, What is required to send/recieve?

I don't really know logic that well, I used to teach this as part of a class but we used Qlab and it was easy to pick up. You can have your board trigger the sound cues if you want to run it that way but I would recommend having the sound trigger the lighting it tends to be easier to adjust.

I don't really know logic that well, I used to teach this as part of a class but we used Qlab and it was easy to pick up. You can have your board trigger the sound cues if you want to run it that way but I would recommend having the sound trigger the lighting it tends to be easier to adjust.

Do you mind running me through the required workflow to use QLab to trigger the lights to sound.