Something like the Ark of the Covenant

I am a student at a university in Iowa. Every year I work on a drag/burlesque show. This upcoming year is the last year we will have the Drag Queen who got the whole thing going. To celebrate the director wants something elaborate brought on stage. She wants a sort of Ark of the Covenant(from Raiders of the Lost Ark) complete with a haze machine and a blinding light for when it opens.

The director wants it brought on by two of the cast and then opened to this big effect. So I need to find a way to have a haze and light effect, with power coming from the ark itself that I can control at the light board both efficiently and have it not break the bank. Does anyone have an idea of where to start with this?

Can you count on the performers? I would hav them trigger some "smoke in a can", filling the inside with smoke to be released when the lid was removed. I would then have battery opperated LEDs that they could either turn on or be turned on before they head out on stage.

What kind of budget are you working on?

i agree with Ruinexplorer, LED lighting would be the way to go if you want blinding. Those units can be found cheap on amazon. As far as controlling them, how familiar are you with electrical wiring? Also where on stage is this going and where is it entering from? Does anyone dance behind it?

If the unit is off to the side or all the way upstage and there is one face of the unit where no one goes you could find the correct gauge wire, depending on the specs of the lighting instrument you use, and run it stage pin to edison or zip. create a loom for your data cable and you could even split your AC and Data to a hazer should you have the ability to get one.

if it must be danced around and there is no logical and clean cable path to be had and that 5 c's is just for this project and not for other aspects of your show then here is a link to a cheap LED light. CHAUVET FREEDOM PAR LED <BR>Battery Power & Wirel | IDJNOW.COM