Stage Management question for school

CMulligan

Hi everyone. I'm a student at the University of Windsor. I have to do a school project about stage management. I was wondering if anyone has any opinion on how to deal with problem actors, whether they're divas or late or if they have terrible hygiene. How do you tell them what they need to be told, or should you at all?

It like a lot of other people have started doing this same project as well....

I would recommend running a search as it is a very useful function and will turn up probably everything you need. Also try posting/searching at SMNetwork.org - Index which is a forum dedicated to SMs.

I've already posted there, and we're supposed to have our own conversations, not search through others. Thanks though! Is there anything besides that amazing quote that you can tell me?

Comming from a High School setting it's really different then at a professional level but I would guess that the SM would have to tell them straight out. If it's hampering the production then a stern word putting them in place is probably all that's needed, and after that getting the Producer or Director involved.

As for personal hygiene, if it doesn't affect the production, then it probably doesn't matter.

Just always be diplomatic whenever you're talking to anyone involved in the production, whether they be actors, designers, department heads, or whatever. Rather than saying "Why are you always late", try saying "Is there anything we can do to help you arrive on time?". Actors will almost always say no, and the actor will likely start to show up on time. If they actually do say yes, then find out what the problem is and do whatever you're allowed to (within AEA rules if applicable) to help them get to rehearsals. Just always be non-threatening and non-confrontational.