Teaching Texts, and special gems.

I have been wondering, what texts people have either used to teach their technical theatre courses or just to expand their own knowledge. I'm especially interested in texts more specific to each of the areas within the field. Have you ever found a gem that you found extremely helpful, or just plain entertaining?

What age level are you looking for? High School, Community College, University? Are you looking to teach separate classes in each of the disciplines or having multiple texts for a general class? I assume that you've already gone through the wiki?

I have been teaching Stagecraft I & II for about 5 years. My classes help build at least two shows. I started used Gillette and then discovered that I was only teaching about 4-6 chapters of a 22 chapter text. This year I switched to Daniel Ionazzi's The Stagecraft Handbook which seems a bit more accessible to my students and is primarily directed at carpentry. This aligns nicely with how I am teaching for for my college. The Backstage Handbook is a great reference for working pros but for students i think it has limited usefulness, as other have noted. The Ionazzi is out of print, but when I e-mailed him, he stated that he was in the process of getting it reprinted ( and updated, I hope). Just a bit more info.
I am interested in hearing how other people teach their Stagecraft classes: hands on only, classroom only, a mix of both? If a mix of both, how is that accomplished? Is there help in the shop for supervision? Do you do projects or show-only building?

Last edited by a moderator: