Control/Dimming USB Dongles?

DuckJordan

Touring IATSE Member
USB DMX dongles, do you like them, hate them, or just don't care?

Basically i am trying to get some opinions about DMX dongles and trying to come up with a very cheap way to get into the concert lighting industry in the south east South Dakota area. My plan is to get 8 Par 56's and in the next year or so get either some LED pars, or 2 moving heads.

So basically i want to know what devices you like and which i should stay away from.

Peronally I have limited experience with USB DMX control, but it is basicly, a computer run DMX console which no hardware interface, most of them can be programmed to do anything a normal console can do however having no interface is a somewhat down side. And as for manual control, forget it. Pretty much everything we need to be cued and recorded as you are using a mouse.
And you need to make sure you have a fairly nice computer running it and devote it souly to running the software and don't run anything else while running it. So to get into the business I think it is a good way to go if you can't get your hands on a cheap used console.

They are a great substitute for a proper console when you are just playing around. If you are looking to learn a proper desk and use this as a stepping stone I would highly suggest the Entec DMX pro which can be had for around $150, paired with Chamsys MagicQ PC which is free for the first universe.

Peronally I have limited experience with USB DMX control, but it is basicly, a computer run DMX console which no hardware interface, most of them can be programmed to do anything a normal console can do however having no interface is a somewhat down side. And as for manual control, forget it. Pretty much everything we need to be cued and recorded as you are using a mouse.

Some allow for playback wings, giving you the touch of real faders and buttons, but they are not cheap.