What do you do with your kids when you work?

Hey there,

I am wondering how others take care of their young kids while they are working crazy long hours with unpredictable call backs.

Do you have an on call sitter?
Grandparents?
A spouse who stays at home or works a normal job?

....This is why I have cats. Seriously. This is why @MrsFooter and I have cats. I can't even take care of a dog. The people I know in the industry who have kids usually have a stay at home parent or they took a desk job so day care would work. My predecessor left because he had a kid on the way and wanted to actually raise him... you can now call Markertek and talk to him 9-5. You'll go broke with babysitters.

Well, that is one of the many reasons I am a teacher. My wife works only part-time on a flexible schedule she makes, and I more or less have a similar schedule as my kids. They are always with one of us, especially late gigs, unless we go on a date. It helps that we are both musicians and understand the business is what it is. I know it is not easy for a lot if people (and us too), but I love that my wife and I are the biggest influence on our kids.

My wife and I had our first in September. It's been difficult figuring out the childcare thing. Seldom do we get lucky enough for her to be off work when I have a gig. Most of the time, grandparents are available. There's always an off night though that she comes to work with me. I was hanging some LEDs the other day and she insisted on sitting on the stage in the light. And then when it was time to call the focus, she had to be in my arms while I did it. She even started to mimic the hand gestures. High school stage managers make great babysitters on those nights too.

My son is in full time daycare. My wife works full time as a teacher. Financially, it still works out in our favor to have both of us working. Of course, that is only paying for a single kid in day care.