Why won't it light? Troubleshooting conventionals

Just an aside to the thread.
I purchased two Source four instruments off of ebay, that were almost brand new. I paid next to nothing for them, because they were listed as not working and only good for parts. The problem was the wiring of the stage pin connector, the same as the one shown by crazytechie. The hot lead was connected to ground. Both of the instruments had the power cables cut off at the halfway point, but included in the shipment.

Not being a student, I can't respond to the Questions from Derek, but a clue to the tools that can help troubleshoot: some start with the letters 1)"G" 2)"U" 3)"V" 4)"M". I'm sure that there are many others, but can you name the four that I have indicated?

Tom Johnson

My order would be:

1)Check that I brought up the correct channel
2)Check to see if the channel is correct in patch
3)Check to see if the breaker on the dimmer might need to be reset
4)Check Lamp
5)Check dimmer--see if another unit works in same area
6)Check pigtail, internal wiring of unit, etc.

Obviously, if multiple units are not responding, I would react differently

Not being a student, I can't respond to the Questions from Derek, but a clue to the tools that can help troubleshoot: some start with the letters 1)"G" 2)"U" 3)"V" 4)"M". I'm sure that there are many others, but can you name the four that I have indicated?

1) Grenade-Socapex. Lamp tester, real handy and real quick. I should find myself one.

2) Utility Knife. Used for a variety of things, fixing pigtales/plugs, cutting gafftape, etc.

3)Voltmeter is the best I can think of...although I don't know why you would need a multimeter and this.

4)Multimeter. Duh. Doubles as a lamp tester or continuity tester, also could be used for cable testing.

If 3 is voltmeter, than 4 is maglite.

How'd I do?

Just an aside to the thread.