Working on getting an old Expression 1 board running. Got a question.

Ravenbar

I haven't got the board in the house and set up yet, which will ultimately give me the answer I seek.

I've got an OLD ETC Expression 1 board that has been sitting in my garage the last 10 year. Inherited it from the college when I graduated/it was retired due to a bad Grandmaster. The Grandmaster is stuck a 0% as I recall(or the blackout button is stuck on internally). Just found a CGA monitor to hook to it today(Amiga monitor manufactured November of 1985, fo a few months younger than I am).

All I need from the board for my current show is for it to provide submaster for a few DMX toy's we're using(a couple LED Par's(7ch ea) and a couple Chauvet Abyss USB projectors(4ch ea).

My reasoning behind using this board is that I may not be the only one operating it and everyone else only has experience with an Expression 3 board so trying to keep it in the family, so to speak. If I can't get it working, options are setting up an old 2 scene preset Colortran board the school has, getting some sort of usb/DMX interface for a laptop, or I'm thinking about maybe getting a cheat(sub $100) DJ grade board off Amazon.

My question is, does anyone remember if an Expression 1 has a way to disable the Grandmaster in the setup menu? The manual doesn't say a word on the topic and google doesn't have much given the age of the board predating Google by quite a lot. As I said above, the Gm is stuck at a 0% condition. I not, is there any way to bypass the GM internally(i.e. Jumper wire of something)?

If you're a brave soul, you could pop it open, and see if you can detach/bypass/replace whatever isn't working right. Haven't had any experience with the Expression 1, so I don't know how easy it really is to open up.

The very stock answer to this is always the same:
For quickest and most accurate advice is give ETC tech support a call at 1- 800-688-4116 or email at [email protected]