XLR Covers/Protection?

cceprod

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the world of audio/intercoms/DMX and I have a bit of a problem. I work at an outdoor theater and we have numerous cables run haphazardly without any sort of protection or covering. Now I came out to do some maintenance and set up the other day only to find that our scenic department (bless their hearts) sprayed the entire stage area black. And I mean the ENTIRE area. They didn't bother to mention it to any other department, so not only did it put me out a few more days but they also destroyed numerous com lines, DMX drops and mic runs by painting on the connectors without covering them.

So now that I have fixed them all, reprimanded the scenic department, and set all my stuff up, I'm wondering if there is a solution you guys can think of to keep XLR ends (3-pin, 5-pin, male and female alike) covered to protect against careless painters and rain and all that fun nonsense. I'm hoping to avoid a half-assed attempt, such as gaff taping them or putting garbage bags over them. Does anyone know of a good solution?

(And before anyone asks, yes, I intend to fix our haphazard line runs nowthat I am in charge. )

I work at an outdoor venue fairly frequently. I waterproof almost all of our cables with 3 different size plastic bags (large plastic bags for large mult, medium plastic bags for small mult, and small plastic bags for XLR/Ethercon/Powercon). We buy the bags by the thousand, and e-tape them to the cable. It's important to keep the bag open or else condensation will build inside and rust out the connector. When the cable is actually connected to something and I need to waterproof the connection I use Glad Press 'N' Seal instead of a bag. If a cable has been tied up loose for a few months and I intend to use it, I generally throw a little canned air into the connector before plugging it in to ensure there's no trapped moisture.