Need help with a show(s)

Rico LD

Hi,

I'm a high school student fairly new to lighting design and I've been asked to design lights for 2 different shows my school is doing 2 days in a row. My trouble begins with the designing of it, as my TD wants the rig to be useable for both shows which happen to be completely different. The first is a musical production and then the next day is a dance show.

This could be an easy feat to pull off for some however our stage isn't exactly ideal. I only have 9 dimmers in the house and 8 on the electrics on the stage to play with. Sadly I'm even more limited in the sense that each dimmer circuit can only handle a max of 2 fixtures.

I do love the look of using booms for the dance shows however I'm not sure if it would work with the musical due to the number of dimmers that would be used by them. The TD has suggested we use some ColorbandPIX LEDs on the booms. I'm not exactly sure if they would work for the same effect as conventional fixtures.

Also, I was really hoping to gel some fixtures as well but am unsure if even that would be possible due to my restrictions. At most I will probably end up gelling the fixtures warm/cold but nothing more (sadly).

So this where I appeal to you guys. I'm in a tough spot with these shows and as a high school student still learning, I could use any suggestions or thoughts that you guys may have.

Thanks guys

It's hard to suggest anything without knowledge of how many of what sort of light you have, the budget available for rental, or the total amount of power available.

If there are more dimmers available, run more circuits from them.

I mean, if you have the resources, you could hang two shows and have a switchbox to change between the two shows. Or rent dimmer doublers to have more channels. Or rent just some LED pars. I'm assuming since the TD is interested in using some LED lights already, this won't be an issue with the board. What board do you have?