Best Video Camera

Call911

Hello all,

Working on a new project, need to send a video feed from the auditorium to the lobby. It's going to feed a 60" LCD. I'd like to go HD for best video quality. What camera would be best for the harsh lighting of theater. It would be a wide shot the whole time, don't need robotic pan/tilt. Would just like a good camera that can adjust to the low light and bright light changes well, and can feed an HD signle to the 60" LCD

- sent from my iPhone

What's your budget? The "best" camera varies widely based on how much you can spend. Also, is it something that will sit on a tripod in the back of the auditorium? Is it something that will be manned if you need to do zoomed in close up shots?

Also, how are you going to send the video to the space? I'm not an expert on sending video on long runs, but methinks you'll have to spend some $$$ to send the video as HD. If you're going to send it as SD, makes life a lot easier. You basically could just go to your local camera dealer/big box store and buy a nice camera (most of which will have HD capability anyways.)

I happen to like 3-sensor Sony cameras for theater work, because they work well in low light. Single sensor cameras aren't going to be as good. But, auto-iris and gain circuits can get confused with stage lighting, so your image probably won't be perfect without some manual adjustments.

Note that you need a camera that can be externally powered, preferably without its battery. Also make sure that whatever you get (assuming some sort of camcorder) is happy being left on in "record" (as opposed to "playback" mode. Many will shut down after a few minutes, if they are not actively recording anything. Ideally you want a camera-only, but I haven't seen any HD cameras that would be cost effective.