Circuit calculations

Okay,

So I'm relatively new to lighting, I've been helping out at my local theatre for a while but still dont know a lot and have to pick up a lot of knowledge on the job.

I was just wondering how to work out how many lights you can place on a circuit?

I know the basic calculation W divided by V = A
Am I to do this calculation for each lantern and make sure the amps dont exceed the amps in the circuit?

I'm slightly confused and would appreciate any help!

Thanks

If you are running everything at the same voltage, you can cut out the middle step. For instnace, here in America we use nominally 120V and use 12AWG cable with a 20A circuit breaker. This means we can safely put 120V * 20A = 2400W on each circuit. Just add up your lamps and make sure they stay under 2400W. Which is generally 4 Source4s when lamped at 575W.

-Tim

As additional to Xander's rely, be aware that should you be running the circuit for more then 3 hours continuously, you need to down rate the load to 80% of the circuit breaker rating, unless you are using a dimmer or circuit designed for continuous loading. ETC Sensor dimmers, as example are designed for continuous loads and can safely run their circuits at the breaker rating. Thus in Xander's example, 4x575 watt Source 4's are OK on a Sensor 2400 watt dimmer. Other dimming systems may not be rated for continuous use. On a non-rated 2400 watt circuit, the load can only be 1920 watts.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk