Countryman EM6 with Clearcom?

eslezak

With my discovery of the Countryman EM6 system (combining the E6 mic with a Shure SE425/535 single iem), I have begun to wonder if it would be possible to use this system as a Clearcom headset. I know there are many factors to consider -- either re-wire or adaption to a 4-pin connector, mic impedance, need for phantom, etc. I am by no means an expert with electronics and circuits, but have built a few simple to moderate devices in my time.

If this turns out to be a viable solution, my plan would probably be to purchase an EM6 cable (as I already have the E6 mic, and am planning on purchasing some SE535's nearer to Christmas) with the TA4F Shure Wireless connector. I would then want to build some sort of small belt pack that would have TA4M & 3.5mm connectors for the headset, and a 4-Pin XLR to run to the Clearcom -- that could hold a 9v for phantom (hopefully that's all that would be needed), some sort of volume attenuation for the mic line going to the comm, and perhaps a push-to-talk button/switch. If I were to get real fancy, maybe a couple LEDs for battery level indication -- but that's getting ahead of myself. I know this is a rather expensive setup for a comm mic. However, the way I see it is that in ordering the TA4F connector with the EM6, I can use this for its intended purpose (mic/iem), and also have the option of having a very secure, comfortable, lightweight comm setup as well...

I still have a lot of research ahead of me, but if anyone else has thought about this or knows of a website that has collected this info together, I'd be happy to hear from you. Or any thoughts in general?

At that level, a mic is after bias power (typically at a few volts) rather than phantom, the two ARE different.

Beyond that, looking at the threads for using a mobile phone headset with a real comms system should give you much of the legwork that will be needed in bringing this concept to actuality...