Dimmers

Hello! I work for a few community theaters, who are trying to upgrade their lighting system. We currently have 10 portable dimmer packs, but we are trying to upgrade to rack dimmers. We were looking at a Eurorack LD6230 6 Channel Rack. I see that it requires 3 phase power. We only have 1 phase power, with 20 Amp Breakers, which terminate in Edison connectors. Our fixtures also have Edison connectors. How would we wire this dimmer to accept Edison Power in, and 6 Edison Outs which will go to the fixtures?

Ok. That's along the lines of what I was thinking. I'm completely new to dimmers. So I would have 3 Edison's going to 3 different breakers. That would be all 60Amps. Then, I connect the hot to L1, L2, L3? Why is there 2 of each "L"? Also, how do I connect the dimmer to the lights?

You can connect a pin out, or just an ed mluti.
http://www.behringer.com/assets/LD6230_P0140_I_EN.pdf scroll through the manual (same link as above) and you'll come across a terminal. feed your pin out connector through the back, and feed each of the wires into the appropriate terminal slots.

Where will you be installing your rack? how you wire out from this will be affected by how you plan to use your gear. I'm sure you dont want to pin out in a booth and run soca all the way from foh to stage

images related:
http://medias.audiofanzine.com/images/normal/behringer-eurolight-ld6230-923230.jpg
http://mozartcase.com/images/1407420155_DSC_0019.JPG

Please note, I am offering options, but I personally don't feel comfortable advising on the safety aspect.

I think at this point, you need to call an electrician. You also need the installation manual to the rack. It should be possible to connect it to single phase, but the manufacturer will need to tell the electrician how.

Reactions: Les