Mixers/Consoles Direct output on the Yamaha LS-9

ajohns95616

Hi everyone,

I'm a little new to digital boards, and we have a LS-9 at the church I work at and we've been wanting to be able to record the choirs to the computer without sending it to the house. So far I haven't gotten it to work by just setting the omni-out to pre-fader. Is there something else I need to do?

The way you are going about it is probably the most simple way of getting the job done. If you are looking to make them actual direct outs like a traditional analogue board, it can be done. Read your manual. Page 88 shows you exactly how to do it. Here is a link to a manual online for quick reference.

If you are new to digital boards, read and reread your manual. It is your friend. Also, see if you can get any time to just play with the board while not in a rehearsal or event (be sure to save your base file first, just in case). This should help you become more comfortable with it, and give you a chance to drill down into some of the features of the board you may not always use.

http://images.thomann.de/pics/prod/197990_manual.pdf

~Dave

If you're looking for a simple stereo recording solution you have a few options.

First, you could use the direct outs to loop right out like DaveySimps said above.

Second idea would be to use a USB drive recorder built into the LS9

Third idea would be to make several post-fade aux groups mixed to a matrix.
Ex: Let's say you have a piano accompanying the choir - assign the choir's mics post-fade each to Mix 1, the piano post-fade to Mix 2, and assign both of those mix's to Matrix 1 post-fade, and assign Matrix 1 to the omni-out of your choice. This way you can record, and the record is essentially mixed off of your house mix. If the balance isn't coming out right in the recording, you can adjust the Mix's (ie the piano is too quiet, you just boost mix 2 a bit). Gives you a bit of control over it all, and it won't go to the house.