Is Local 829 worth it?

In my years as an active IATSE member, we had a labor company that was able to provide quality technicians and a decent overhire when needed. To the members, insurance and retirement benefits were able to be afforded through the billings for the work provided.

David

I am a sports official, I used to be a builder and I am in this business. I am well versed in the 1099 world as well as the employee side of the business. When I officiate I carry insurance for injury, liabilty and assault. When I was a GC I carried WC on my subs if they didn't have their own. As a stagehand I carried nothing but as far as I know the contractors did. I know a friend of mine got hurt on a union gig and recieved WC.

I can't say I read the whole thread, I may do at some later point but I have to say that as someone who is used to working outside of the US every time I read about how stuff works with the unions in the US it scares me.

I guess it comes with the cut-throught market-rules-all attitude that the US has, you have to have such strong representation...

Here if you get hurt on the job the employer/insurance/govt continues paying until you have recuperated (if you're incapacitated I think the government takes over but the employer also has to pay a hefty sum).

I don't know if the following is really what happens in union work but that is what I always hear rumored about union work in America being completly limited to what you came to do:
If someone from a different department needs a hand and I'm not busy I can help him without worrying that some union will want my head "because for that 1 minute of help (lifting a cable), another (qualified) person should have been hired".

Though I do hope that at some point I will also be taking jobs in the US I sincerely hope that unions/labor laws by then will be more like some other countries....

...Here if you get hurt on the job ...
Where exactly, or approximately, is "here"?