New to the forum. Just to drop by and say hi :)

Hi guys I am a year 12 student from Hong Kong... yep, i guess quite far away from anyone on this forum i guess. I discovered this forum while i was doing some google-ing and found the forum quite impressive... Just wanna sign up and should come back here for help when I need it for a production :)
Basically there're not a lot of people working on technical stuff in my school and I had tried a bit a everything... Control room management... Sound control... Lighting design + control... Spotlight operation... umm... you name whatever a school production
should involve and I should have at least touch onto it at some stage. (Besides acting... Despite that I used to be a drama student and it was drama which brought me into all of this)
I have i should say more of "specialized" into lighting lately but it's really still very amateur compared to most who visit the site.
My school is honestly speaking pretty well off as we are a private school and we have pretty nice equipment that i deal with and productions that i have participated in include Beauty and the Beast, Joesph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat and Godspell most recently (my school has actually brought right to do these shows... huge sum of money spent seriously...), but yet the problem I often face is that our school has most of the stuff fixed and we ain't allow to really modify them so we're really bound to what we have (simply changing the gel color for a couple of stage lighting took me two weeks...) There're professional-ish people in our school who are in maintain the system but they have got a lot to do and it's usually us the student who does the operating...