Painting FOH Bulbs

crippit

Firstly I work in a school, and while there might be plenty of smart solutions here, there is so much red tape and talking in circles I just need to solve my current issue.

We have 60 5000k LED bulbs for FOH which were purchased without consulting with us, we need around 120 for all our fixtures. Obviously 5000k is pretty cold for a theater space, and we'd like to get something a lot warmer. We now need to buy the remaining bulbs, but replacing the existing ones (still in their boxes 3 years later) is apparently not possible.

Is there something which we can paint the bulbs we already have with in order to reduce the colour temperature? Is there another solution?

No, I don't know of any kind of coating you can apply to the lamp to accomplish this. But as almorton says there are gels specifically for this, called CTO (color temperature orange). They come in a range; 1/4 CTO, 1/2 CTO, and full CTO. Gel is cheap, I would get one of each and experiment, although to go from 5000k to tungsten I would guess you want 3/4. The problem you're going to run into is figuring out some way to mount them. I assume these are LED, so at least heat will be negligible. By FOH, it sounds like you mean house lights. Theatrical fixtures have a way built in to mount gel, but houselight fixtures (mostly) don't. If you're lucky your fixture has some kind of lens and you can mount gel inside of that.

Note to add - there's almost certainly an equivalent set of Rosco gels, but I'm not familiar with Rosco colours. Rarely used them, except in a colour scroller, which will give you an idea of how long ago that was likely to have been.

Edit to add: it's worth noting that the Lee Zircon gels I linked to are specially designed for use with WW and CW LED fixtures. They are different to the gels for tungsten, as the spectrum produced by LED fixtures is different to tungsten, being somewhat discontinuous.

Last edited: