Portfolio Website

kiilljoy

I've been working on assembling all this for a couple months now, and I would really like some feedback. I'm preparing this for grad school applications. I will be making a paper version both on presentation boards or URTAs and in a folder to carry around. My plan is to transfer the website to a mini cd to also hand out to the college reps if they want one.

I'm still missing some magic sheets and a plot on the show pages, but other than that, it's done. Thanks in advance!

Paul T. Arnold | Lighting Design | Home

Right now, your page looks a bit "bloggy". It looks like you are running on wordpress which is great, but wordpress can look less bloggy. I did some posts about how I use wordpress on my site awhile back, take a look at them.

What do you want to do at grad school? Right now, I can't tell if you want to act, stage manage, or be an LD. Its fine that you have many talents, especially when they all tie together, but with grad school you want to put your flag down as "This is what I am". Also, I would highly suggest you lead with some images first thing. Right now, I really don't have any reason to dig into your site. If I had some killer images that would make me want to dig, that might change. Also, your photo page could be better. I would suggest breaking each show onto its own page w/ paperwork. Link all of those pages on one page. No one is going to scroll through 15 screens of pictures. As far as what to give schools, I don't think you really need to drop them a CD. They can go to your website. Make up cards that have your name and site and hand those out like candy to anyone that will take them. Mini CD's should be avoided. Many computers, mac's mostly, won't take the mini-CD. You don't want a college rep to ruin his/her computer because of something you handed out.

Missing a link to it in seeing what you are doing.