Projections as Set for The Music Man

Robersim

Ok, First of all, I would like to apologize for posting this in the wrong board. Aside from this being the most populous board, I am a Lighting Designer myself so I find it easier to talk to other lampies.

I'll start by giving you a little background Info. I am a semi-professional lighting designer in high school. I've done lighting design for 3 years and have been a programmer for 6. I do freelance ALD, and LD work with local dance studios and theatre companies.
My school has decided to do "The Music Man" as the fall musical. I have never done this show myself before but have seen it multiple times.
My worry is that when it comes time for me to send my portfolio off to schools or potential employers (I plan on making a career out of this) that all of the poorly designed sets will detract from the lighting design.
We run on very low budgets, so I had the Idea of doing rear projection on flats covered in white spandex to form some of the sets. This will hopefully improve the general look of our sets, as well as give it a modern feeling, while maintaining the look of the historical buildings, etc.
We have a large 3D Modelling and Virtual Reality department that would I'm sure love to join in, as well as a great Television/video production department.
My questions are:
1. Have any of you done anything like this before.
2. Do you think the look of projections would be "too weird" for a show like this.
Thanks!
P.S. Sorry for the wall of text, just thought I would ask some other people their opinions before taking this to the TD.

Last edited: