College Pursuing a Double Major in Theatre

I am currently a junior at Florida State University and have recently realized that I have been avoiding the inevitable. All through high school and middle school I was fascinated and involved in theatre. I acted, I was a technician, I was a dancer, I was a musician, and I was a stagehand. During that time I worked on every show possible in any way I could. Now in college, I am a Production Manager who manages five employees and eight volunteers for our on campus music venue for over 130 events a year, I am a lead Audio Technician at a 440 seat performance hall, I own a small business who provides audio reinforcement for local artists, and am 9 credits away from a degree in Chemistry. This summer I am attending a summer stock theatre program as an A2/A1 depending on the show. I feel like right now I am doing well with my level of experience and credits for a 20 year old.

I recently applied and got accepted into the BA theatre program at FSU. I would finish my degree in chemistry and get a double major in theatre. I would focus on the technical side of theatre in the BA program. Because of Florida’s somewhat generous college assistance program, and my parents’ foresight in saving for my education, I would be able to finish the BA program with little or no debt. The major downside of doing this, is I would have to stay another year.

At this point in my career, I consider myself a quite proficient in live sound mixing and design. I also consider myself a reasonable manager and instructor. I train and advise five part time employees and eight part time volunteers. I regularly work shows that vary from 25 piece jazz bands, gamelan orchestras, the latest hipster rock band, and vocal performance.