Rear Projection Drop Help ???

I am a volunteer at a local theater. I am a fairly experienced digital artist and am trying to figure out a way to possibly help this theater out. They have a ton of old drops and they are going to fall apart soon... some of them already are. I am in the process of re-creating all the art for the backdrops digitally for them just because I love what they do for the community but I'd like to know if there is a projection solution for the following:

array of ultra-short throw (roughly 4 feet from drop space) projectors that can have a hardware or software edge-blending capability.

I'd need to be doing this rear-projection, with this array mounted to the back theater wall.

I've used a software called "watchout" in the past where we did edge-blending with some gargantuan projectors but it was all front-projection and this was a good while ago. I'm sure there is better technology but you guys out there might be able to assist me.

I figure helping these guys out, if they are willing to sell some of these really old drops instead of letting them turn into dust, will give them enough cash to buy the equipment to keep them running for the next ten years and also give their old theater hands, who are also volunteers, a rest they need.

ANY HELP would be tremendously appreciated!

I'll try to address one issue at a time.

array of ultra-short throw (roughly 4 feet from drop space) projectors that can have a hardware or software edge-blending capability.