So, I'm taking a bit of leap into this lighting thing...advice?

So, I've been reading posts on this site for a while now, but I just registered for an account tonight. I guess that makes me new here. So, hello!

To preface this, I am a stage manager. I started stage managing as a sophomore in high school, and here I am five and a half years later with my label maker, color coded tabs, and an IV of black coffee. It's pretty much my life. I average about 6-8 shows a year right now as either an ASM or SM, so I've never had much time to explore other areas. Sad, I know.

Well, I've decided to take a break and finally nose dive into lighting. I bleeping love lighting, but I know next to nothing about it. I'm in a basic lighting class right now, and I can kind of tell you what some instruments do, what gels don't look like vomit, and I just completed my first hand drawn plot (holy mother of god...), but I need more. I did some talking around with some professors, and I am not enrolled in our movers class in the fall since it is the only time it will be offered before I graduate. I am TERRIFIED because I am two years behind everyone in my class. I am the only one that isn't nearly fluent in programmer language, so I'm feeling just a little overwhelmed. But I want this. I want to learn. I want to excel. We'll be mainly working with an E3, EOS, and GrandMA 2. So, I'm here asking you for advice. What would you tell some kid that's new to this? What should I do over the summer to prep myself so I'm not so behind?