Stage Floor/Wall Replacement?

Abscynth

Hi there! I wasn't 110% certain where to post this so I'm going here with this question..

We're looking to replace our stage floor/walls this summer and I was wondering if you guys had any thoughts on what type of material was best!

We're a "small" theatre (165 seats), We put on 8 shows a season and the deck gets painted at least once a month - Theres probably half an inch of paint layers between the top surface and the floor plugs (which we no longer use) We very very very rarely have any sort of dancers onstage so..Dance surface isn't a huge concern.
The only two things that are of note (in my mind at least) are the fact that we prefer to screw flats down into the floor for added stability and run braces out to the walls of the theatre - and secure them to the walls.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? I'm not new to the tech side of things (Lights/Sound) but I am new to deck surfaces, wall surfaces etc etc. So any ideas or input would be most appreciated!

Cheers,

There's several threads on here about deck surfaces, mostly pertaining to Masonite, which seems to be the most common material. I've also seen 1/4 or 3/8 ply, but that's a bit spendy.

I'm assuming that you are looking to recover an existing wall, rather than structural changes. Most theatres I've been in have had painted concrete or masonry walls, anchoring to those surfaces could be difficult. What exactly are you trying to anchor?

As Mixmaster said, in so many words, Do a search. There are a ton of threads about just this situation. Well, a ton about replacing floors, replacing walls is another beast entirely, and could possibly open a world of troubles.